12970889_1039781476088989_5144141483419003978_o

#skoutfind: UltrAspire Spry 2.0

This week’s #skoutfind is for the trail running minimalist.

unnamedUltra runner Ashley Nordell says, “For any long run, my go-to item is my UltrAspire Spry 2.0 with the flask-shaped bottles. I wear 1-2 bottles in the front for easy access. At aid stations I don’t have to take off my pack to fill a bladder — I just pull out the bottles, refill, and go.

The back has a pocket that can hold a one-liter bladder for if extra water is needed, or I usually stuff my Houdini in it so I’m prepared for weather. I can also throw in a headlamp, extra food, map, water filter, etc.

There is also a water- and sweat-proof pill pouch that I put electrolytes or other medication in, and another small zipper pocket where I carry ID if I’m out alone, Chapstick, fruit snacks, etc.

I’ve worn this version of the pack at every ultra I have raced this year, including both hundreds [Bighorn & Ozark]. Because the back pocket sits higher up, I never deal with lower back chafing.”

ultraspire-spry-2-0-hydration-race-vest-15Designed with the same comfortable fit and shape of the original Spry, UltrAspire made some necessary upgrades. The Max O2 Sternum™ clasp allows for better range of motion, minimizing breathing restrictions.

Complete with trash pockets, quick-stash rear pocket, and exterior shock cord for added carrying capacity, the Spry 2.0 covers all the essentials.

Check it out on the UltrAspire website!

img_5132
Ashley Nordell, Ultra Runner & Member of Team Skout Backcountry

 

Leave a Reply

